Prep School Fee Planning

Featherstone are proud main sponsors of the ‘Heads Up Challenge’, supporting twenty-one of the UK’s top prep-school headmasters to raise money for the leading children’s mental health charity, Place2Be. 

Our Guide to Tax Efficient School Fee Planning 

This guide to tax efficient school fee planning was written for parents educating their children privately, by parents who are in the same boat and can sympathise!

Many of us feel a duty to provide our children with the same advantages that our parents gave to us. However, times are different… Schools have been in an “arms race” for state-of-the-art facilities and there is now more foreign competition for places… forcing fees in one direction. This makes the prospect of opening Pandora’s Box daunting, if you are in this position then you are not alone. What can help move the odds in your favour is proper financial planning and investment management, which is what we do…

Featherstone is an investment management and financial advice firm. Our clients enjoy the many qualities of a smaller, friendlier, less mass market firm, whilst benefiting from our team’s experience working for companies such as Goldman Sachs, UBS, Odey, JP Morgan & Deloitte. The guide highlights some areas that we may be able to help you with tax efficient school fee planning.  If you would like to discuss how we can help you, please get in touch by clicking here

Discover tax efficient ways to pay school fees please download our guide below

THE CURRENT COST OF SCHOOL FEES IN THE UK

According to a 2018 survey by the Independent Schools Council (ISC) – which examined fees across 1,326 independent schools in the UK – the average fee for a private day school in the UK is now £4,618 per term. Boarding fees, naturally, are much higher than this at around £11,228 per term on average. This means that the average annual cost of a private day school is nearly £14,000, while annual fees for a boarding school are nearly £34,000.

Yet these fees can be just the beginning. On top of regular fees, parents need to consider costs associated with school uniforms and school trips, as well as extra-curricular activities such as music, sport and drama... not forgetting the tuck shop! These fees can add thousands per year.

School fees in the UK often tend to rise above inflation, meaning that the cost of private education is continually becoming more expensive. According to the ISC, over the last 10 years school fees have risen faster than the rate of UK inflation every single year, with overall costs rising over 70% since 2004. With demand for private education remaining high due to increasing interest from wealthy overseas families, fees are likely to continue increasing.

To dowload our complete guide and discover tax efficient ways to pay school fees please click here

THE HEADS UP CHALLENGE 

Featherstone are proud main sponsors of the ‘Heads Up Challenge’, supporting twenty-one of the UK’s top prep-school headmasters to raise money for the leading children’s mental health charity, Place2Be. 

Supporting headmasters from the following Prep Schools:

Ludgrove School - Berkshire https://www.ludgrove.net/

Cheam School - Berkshire https://www.cheamschool.com/

Elstree School - Berkshire http://www.elstreeschool.org.uk/

Sunningdale School - Berkshire https://www.sunningdaleschool.co.uk/

Lambrook School - Berkshire http://www.lambrookschool.co.uk/

Horris Hill - Berkshire http://www.horrishill.com/

St Andrews School Pangbourne - Berkshire https://www.standrewspangbourne.co.uk/

Papplewick School - Berkshire https://www.papplewick.org.uk/

Cothill School - Oxfordshire https://www.cothill.net/

Moulsford School - Oxfordshire https://www.moulsford.com/

Walhampton School - Hampshire http://www.walhampton.com/

Beaudesert Park School - Gloucestershire https://beaudesert.gloucs.sch.uk/

Brambletye School - West Sussex https://www.brambletye.co.uk/

Cranleigh Prep School - Surrey https://www.cranleigh.org/

Mount Kelly School - Devon https://www.mountkelly.com/

Abberley Hall School - Worcestershire https://www.abberleyhall.co.uk/home

Beeston Hall School - Norfolk https://www.beestonhall.co.uk/

Port Regis School - Dorset https://www.portregis.com/

Mowden hall School - Northumberland http://www.mowdenhall.co.uk/

Bellhaven School - Scotland https://www.belhavenhill.com/

 

Logo

 

Featherstone Partners, Old Brewhouse, Yattendon, Berkshire RG18 0UE

01635778888